Trio Music

Chick Corea, Miroslav Vitous & Roy Haynes

Corea first teamed up with bassist Miroslav Vitous (later to join Weather Report) and drummer Roy Haynes in 1968 for Now He Sings, Now He Sobs. Trio Music (originally issued as a double CD) is drawn from their second meeting in 1981. The set is split between free-ish improvisations (sometimes based round tiny predetermined themes) and some Monk tunes.

“Rhythm-ning” and “Little Rootie Tootie” feature playful, splashy piano solos and some nifty comments from the rhythm section. The improvisations are spikier affairs; “No 3” is dense, episodic and the effect is often more like Stravinsky than anything else. “No1” and the desperately exciting “Slippery When Wet” are kicked into a bebop-driven orbit by Vitous’ nimble drive and the unstoppable Haynes. Personally I’d pay money to hear Mr Haynes tap his fingers on a table, but his performances here are really something else and bring out the best in all involved.


Disc 1

  1. Trio Improvisation No. 1
  2. Trio Improvisation No. 2
  3. Trio Improvisation No. 3
  4. Duet Improvisation No. 1
  5. Duet Improvisation No. 2
  6. Trio Improvisation No. 4
  7. Trio Improvisation No. 5
  8. Slippery When Wet

Disc 2

  1. Rhythm-a-Ning
  2. 'Round Midnight
  3. Eronel
  4. Think of One
  5. Little Rootie Tootie
  6. Reflections
  7. Hackensack