Solo Piano: Originals

Chick Corea

"We recorded 10 concerts – each with a first half and a second half. The first half of each concert was devoted to “standard” songs – both from jazz composers – and in this case, Thelonious Sphere Monk and Earl Rudolph Powell – and the great American songwriters of the 30’s and 40’s like Jimmy Van Heusen, Cole Porter, Irving Berlin and others. The second half was devoted mainly to my own compositions with the addition of the 2 preludes by Alexander Scriabin. In the first half I played a wide selection of songs – in the second half I played almost the same program each night. What I’ve compiled in these 2 CDs are my choices of the renditions I like the best. Playing this program around Europe and Japan and in such varied environments from clubs to concert halls taught me some very new lessons in musical communication – and especially verified how the communication of music lives absolutely far above all other human differences – such as differences in language, religion, race, culture, age, sex, politics, etc."

— Chick Corea

Album Tracks

  1. Brasilia
  2. The Yellow Nimbus
  3. Prelude No. 4, Opus 11
  4. Prelude No. 2
  5. Children's Song #6
  6. Children's Song #10
  7. Armando's Rhumba
  8. April Snow
  9. The Chase
  10. The Falcoon
  11. Swedish Landscape
  12. Spain
  13. Children's Song #12