Piano Improvisation, Vol. 2

Chick Corea

Piano Improvisations Vol. 2 represents an even broader cross-section of the evolving Corea than Vol. 1 — featuring, in addition to the pianist’s own work, brief covers of Thelonious Monk’s “Trinkle Tinkle” and Shorter’s “Masqualero.” Both demonstrated that his inherent love of the tradition had remained intact through his avant years, even as he inserted his own particular sense of comic quirkiness into the Monk and the kind of dramatic majesty and sheer virtuosity in the Shorter.

— AllAboutJazz

Album Tracks

  1. After Noon Song
  2. Song for Lee Lee
  3. Song for Thad
  4. Trinkle Tinkle
  5. Masquellero
  6. Preparation I
  7. Preparation II
  8. Departure from Planet Earth
  9. A New Place: Arrival / Scenery / Imp's Walk / Rest