My Spanish Heart

Chick Corea

This 1976 release features Chick Corea in what was then, and remains, a unique musical setting. While it is truly an electric jazz fusion record, it is also the only solo recording of Corea’s on which he attempted to truly explore the Latin side of his musical heritage. My Spanish Heart marks a full-scale, yet thoroughly modern, exploration in the musical lineage Corea sprang from. Making full use of synthesizer technology, a string section, and synth-linked choruses — of two voices, his own and that of Gayle Moran — as well as percussionist Don Alias, drummer Steve Gadd, a full brass section, and the sparse use of Jean Luc Ponty (“Armando’s Rumba”) and bassist Stanley Clark, Corea succeeded in creating a Spanish/Latin tapestry of sounds, textures, impressions, and even two suites — “Spanish Fantasy” and “El Bozo.” The string quartet performs its intricate and gorgeously elegant arrangements with verve and grace on “Day Danse” and on the suites, with Corea’s contrapuntal pianism creating a sharp yet warm contrast to the shifting tempos, wild interval leaps, and shimmering timbral balances that occur.

— AllMusic

Album Tracks

  1. Love Castle
  2. The Gardens
  3. Day Danse
  4. My Spanish Heart
  5. Night Streets
  6. The Hilltop
  7. Wind Danse
  8. Armando's Rhumba
  9. Prelude to El Bozo
  10. El Bozo, Pt. 1
  11. El Bozo, Pt. 2
  12. El Bozo, Pt. 3
  13. Spanish Fantasy, Pt. 1
  14. Spanish Fantasy, Pt. 2
  15. Spanish Fantasy, Pt. 3
  16. Spanish Fantasy, Pt. 4