Lyric Suite for Sextet

Chick Corea & Gary Burton

The collaboration between Chick Corea and Gary Burton — already 11 years into its Grammy-winning run, which continues to this day — broadened its scope on Lyric Suite for Sextet. On a seven-part composition from Chick, the core duo joins with a string quartet, creating a lush landscape of chamber-music tones. Chick and Gary, as always, display the near-telepathic communication that remains the hallmark of their sound. But the string quartet (classical stars in their own right) provides a previous unimagined resonance to Chick’s writing, adding a thrilling dynamism to “Roller Coaster” and an ethereal majesty to “Dream.”

Album Tracks

  1. Overture
  2. Waltz
  3. Sketch (for Thelonious Monk)
  4. Roller Coaster
  5. Brasilia
  6. Dream
  7. Finale