Live in Montreux

Chick Corea, Joe Henderson, Roy Haynes, Gary Peacock

This important live recording from 1981 features the great pianist with a stunning group: Joe Henderson on tenor sax, Gary Peacock on bass, and Roy Haynes on drums. Haynes worked with Corea on many prior occasions, and Henderson was about to collaborate with him on the Griffith Park albums of the early ’80s, but this is the first time the three appear together. Peacock’s presence is an additional delight. The probing bassist contributes the multi-layered, magnificent “Up, Up and….”

Three of Corea’s compositions here — “Hairy Canary,” “Folk Song,” and “Slippery When Wet” — would later wind up as bonus tracks on Stretch’s 1994 reissue of the 1981 CD Three Quartets. In addition, there are valuable renditions of two dense and challenging Corea tunes, “Psalm” and “Quintet #2,” along with two standards: Thelonious Monk’s “Trinkle, Tinkle” and Cole Porter’s “So in Love.” The latter culminates in a four-minute Haynes drum solo.

Overall, the record is essential for fans of any and all of the four musicians involved.

— AllMusic

Album Tracks

  1. Introduction
  2. Hairy Canary
  3. Folk Song
  4. Psalm
  5. Quintet, No. 2
  6. Up, Up and ...
  7. Trinkle Tinkle
  8. So In Love
  9. Drum Interlude
  10. Slippery When Wet