Live in Molde

Chick Corea & The Trondheim Jazz Orchestra

Chick Corea’s enlivening piano performances with big bands of years past might have prepared listeners for his collaboration with the Trondheim Jazz Orchestra at the Molde Festival 2000. But the devastating showcase of musical prowess that occurred there was unforseeable—it’s become one of the great events in the history of the festival.

Erlend Skomsvoll’s arrangements for Chick and the big band bring out new colours in Corea’s compositions (“Crystal Silence,” “Armando’s Rhumba,” “Spain,” “Return to Forever” and more) throughout the concert. The tunes are intimately recorded here, with such crystal clear sound that it feels like you are actually sitting right in the front row.

This is like no big band record you’ve ever heard.

Album Tracks

  1. Crystal Silence
  2. Windows
  3. Matrix
  4. Duende
  5. Bud Powell
  6. Return to Forever
  7. Spain Intro
  8. Armando's Rhumba