Corea Hancock

Chick Corea & Herbie Hancock

With Chick Corea and Herbie Hancock still selling lots of electric records at the time, the double set served as massive riposte to those who accused the two pianists of abandoning jazz. Fortunately, there was enough worthwhile, often brilliant material on the tapes for two albums, with only one duplication of repertoire. The sole repeated item, the medley of Hancock’s “Maiden Voyage” and Corea’s “La Fiesta,” differs noticeably from the version on the Columbia album. For one thing, it clocks in seven and a half minutes shorter at 27 and a half minutes. For another, “Maiden Voyage” is developed more elaborately and “La Fiesta” incorporates more touches from the avant-garde and generates a little more heat. Indeed, the Polydor album seems to have been programmed with more of a classical bent than its companion. Corea’s “Homecoming” comes off like a big, progressive 20th century classical composition, broken up in the center with humorous fury that is followed by a section for prepared piano à la John Cage. “The Hook” develops the prepared piano ideas even further, with plunkings and buzzing strings galore. And as if the point wasn’t clear by now, Corea and Hancock hammer out a pretty good rendition of the brittle ostinato movement from Bartók’s Mikrokosmos, which doesn’t sound at all out of place with the rest of the program. As on the Columbia album, side three is a solo side, this time with Corea offering his lovely, Spanish-flavored “Bouquet.”

— AllMusic

Disc 1

  1. Homecoming
  2. Ostinato
  3. The Hook

Disc 2

  1. Bouquet
  2. Maiden Voyage
  3. La Fiesta