The Chick Corea Elektric Band (1986)

Featured Artists

Chick Corea, Carlos Rios, Dave Weckl, John Patitucci, Scott Henderson

About The Chick Corea Elektric Band (1986)

Chick has a long history of reinvention — not least of which was the stunning high-velocity jazz-rock of Return to Forever. In 1986, after a long period of high-profile, mostly acoustic collaborations, Chick assembled the Elektric Band, a plugged-in unit so tight and flawless that it reinvigorated jazz for a new generation. Their first album, The Chick Corea Elektric Band, is a stunner: from the opening flourish of “City Gate,” Chick was clearly announcing a new direction. The lineup of young masters — Scott Henderson and Carlos Rios on guitar, bassist John Patitucci and drummer Dave Weckl — simply inhabit Chick’s new compositions, creating instant classics out of tunes like “Got A Match?” and “Elektric City.”

Album Tracks
  1. City Gate
  2. Rumble
  3. Side Walk
  4. Cool Weasel Boogie
  5. Got a Match?
  6. Elektric City
  7. No Zone
  8. King Cockroach
  9. India Town
  10. All Love
  11. Silver Temple